Successful weekend for local hockey squads

It was quite the successful weekend for Central Alberta hockey squads, with more than a few of them bringing home league titles or provincial medals.

Red Deer’s midget AAA Optimist Rebels advanced to the Pacific Regional Championship for a second straight year when they beat Leduc 4-2 in game four of the Alberta Midget Hockey League best of five final.

Once again, the Rebels will face the Vancouver NW Giants, but this time, all games in the best of three series will be held in Burnaby, B.C. with that series getting underway Friday.

The winner of the Pacific series will represent the region at the Telus Cup, Canada’s national midget hockey championship.

Red Deer’s minor midget AAA IROC Chiefs, meantime, were at home this past weekend for the first two games of their league championship.

The Chiefs posted wins of 8-7 and 10-4 over Leduc, with the Oil Kings hosting game three in the best five tonight (Wednesday)

Midget AAA girls action saw the Sutter Fund Chiefs make it all the way to a fifth and deciding game in their Alberta Major Midget Female Hockey League final, where they lost a tough one 4-2 to the Edmonton Thunder, who will advance to the Pacific Regional Championship.

The Red Deer Elks, meantime, were at the provincial midget major AA tournament in Taber, and after posting a 3-0-1 record in round robin play, the Elks made easy work of Peace River in the semi-final, beating the Royals 8-5 to advance to the final, where they won gold with a 5-4 win over St. Albert.

Minor midget AA action saw Red Deer’s Pro-Stitch Chiefs head up to Peace River for provincials.

The Chiefs tore through the round robin, going 3-0 and outscoring the opposition 22-5, setting up a semi-final against St. Albert, which the Chiefs won 6-4, sending them to the gold medal game against Lethbridge.

Red Deer had to settle for provincial silver, losing 5-3 to the Hurricanes in the final.

Elsewhere, the midget A Sutter Fund Chiefs won silver at provincials, and in Pee Wee A boys action, it was the Lacombe Scotiabank Rockets blasting Okotoks 7-0 to win gold.